Jimmy Fallon aims high for first ‘Late Night’ Show

I think the best part of Jimmy Fallon’s debut as the new host of NBC’s ‘Late Night’ was Conan O’Brien. Conan appeared in the opening skit packing up his old dressing room. Fallon had a list of guests that Conan could have only dreamed of in 1993(Robert DeNiro, Justin Timberlake, Van Morrison), and he did okay with it, but clearly Fallon is going to need some time to adjust to the job.

Now don’t get me wrong, I like Jimmy Fallon, but I’ve been a Conan fan since I was 14. It’s hard for me to watch Late Night with Jimmy Fallon at first and to accept that there will no longer be a red headed giant entertaining me in the time slot.

Here is what I found that worked in the show:

* Fallon looks good in a suit.

* The Roots.

* The Justin Timberlake interview: It was genuine, they are obviously friends.

What didn’t work:

* The entire time Robert DeNiro was on the show: Fallon needs to work on his interview skills and that skit was super dumb.

* His monologue: He didn’t seem comfortable. That should get better with time.

I’m confident Fallon will fall into the Late Night niche nicely, in time.

 

see other reviews.

Leave a comment

Filed under tv

Leave a Reply

