The world is a vampire

I find that first lyric of the Smashing Pumpkins song “Bullet with Butterfly wings” to be in my head a lot lately.

The world, does right now seem to be a vampire, no not just because Wall Street is collapsing, but also because of the new vampire phenomena a la ‘Twilight’ and other vampire series.

I have finished the Twilight saga and I still find myself with vampire fever. So I found out about a series of books by Charlaine Harris about heroine Sookie Stackhouse, called the Southern Vampire Mysteries, (oooohhh, sounds like Box Car Children with blood, ha) that was recently made into a series on HBO called ‘True Blood‘. These are vampires not suited for the intended Twilight crowd, but it has a similar soul, the front cover of the books says “Maybe having a vampire for a boyfriend isn’t such a bright idea.”

From what I can gather about the series, it involves more sex and violence, so nothing PG-13 here. I mean the show is on HBO. Just look at how menacing the book cover is. I’m intrigued, I’ll give it a try and report back. (you can read some of it through amazon. if you’re the type scared to commit.)

dead

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

