My review of ‘Twilight’

So I went and saw the highly anticipated ‘Twilight’ last night. I was eager to see it with some friends so we met up in the middle between Phoenix and Tucson in Casa Grande so we could enjoy the cinematic adventure together.

We bought our tickets for the 7 o’clock show, but ended up switching it to the 8 o’clock show because the line was already really long by time we got there, around 45 minutes early. My friend calls me and I quote: “The Line is huge, there are even bitches wearing ‘Team Edward’ shirts out here.”

The movie, was at best, just okay. It is by no means as good as the first flick in the Harry Potter franchise. Which is what this franchise will always be compared to. Although, I don’t think this is the fault of the movie itself. A movie made for 36 million dollars (Twilight) just looks a lot different than a movie made for 125 million dollars, which was the budget for the first Harry Potter film, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer’s Stone. That is the perk of being distributed by a big studio, Warner Bros. Whereas, Summit Entertainment, who made Twilight cannot put up that kind of cash. I mean, just look at the difference between the two websites.

Now, I am a huge fan of the books. This is why the movie cannot work on the same level as the books. Since most of the narrative goes on in Bella’s head, it’s difficult to translate onto film. In the movie, Edward seems like an awkward stalker and he never seems like that in the book. But movies are never like books, this we know. Except maybe the Godfather.

It also took me awhile into the movie to accept that Edward was a vampire and that is why he and his family act so strangely. There is a lot of acting that is staring, and cocking of the head to the side. I just don’t think these people could actually survive in the real world acting the way they do. These vampires have been around for how long? And they still can’t control how they all awkwardly stare? There were times I laughed out loud, and I clearly wasn’t supposed to. Like when they were ‘running’ at superhuman speeds.

I thought Robert Pattinson made a good Edward and Kristen Stewart was just fine as Bella, although she’s a bit too skinny for me. I couldn’t understand what the hell was going on with Taylor Lautner‘s hairline(which I couldn’t find a picture of), who plays Jacob. I wish they would have spent five more dollars on that effect. It looked like it was fashioned out of stuff you find in the Halloween clearance cart at Walgreens.

However, at the end, I was just as excited as any 13-year-old in the theatre when Edward and Bella kissed. *sigh* I wish I had a vampire boyfriend.

The Twilight movie, just like the series will be one of many on the list of my guilty pleasures. I will be seeing it again. And the second time around I think I will enjoy it more. And I’ll be seeing the next one. Here’s hoping they can snag themselves a bigger budget.

twilight3

Leave a comment

Filed under movies

Leave a Reply

